Ad Widget

Collapse

Meals are draining me instead of providing energy; aiming to gain weight.

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Meals are draining me instead of providing energy; aiming to gain weight.

I'm in the beginner stage of a weight-lifting program to gain weight and add muscle. I have the program and gym schedule down; my diet is lacking.

I'm a student, so budget is tight. My main diet right now consists of store-bought ground beef, coconut oil, basmati rice, salmon and veggies. I aim to eat liver at least once a week as well. My main meals always include meat (beef or fish), coconut oil for fat and rice for cheap and easy carbs. My energy levels are pretty inconsistent, though; my sleep isn't the issue as I aim for 9 hours of bed-time per night, and for the most part hit that target. My fatigue isn't from sleep-deprivation, but seems to come from my food, although it's hard to pinpoint what the real problem is when your head is constantly foggy and you can practically feel the inflammation (blocked nose, irritable, feeling heavy and drained of energy).

I've tracked my macros; on most days I get around 50% of my calories from fat (166g), 28% of my calories from carbs (210g) and 22% from protein (160g). My TDEE is about 2500 calories, so I'm eating at least 3000 calories each day. For reference, I'm a 23 y/o male, 5"11, weighing around 65kg. I have no problem actually eating enough calories on a day-to-day basis, but it's really hard to maintain a diet that takes at least three hours out of every day to get under my belt (one hour per meal for cooking, eating and cleaning up after), as well as feeling drained after eating without really knowing why.