Collapse
No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Grass-fed beef tougher?

I cooked a couple of grass-fed tenderloins tonight. 4 minutes per side in a medium-high heated cast iron skillet with butter, took them off at rare (by touch) and let them sit for 10 minutes. When we cut into them they were perfectly done- on the rare side of medium rare. But it was like chewing rawhide. I'm a pretty good cook and can usually nail tenderloins, but I've always used regular, non-organic supermarket cuts. Fluke, or do I need to adjust my cooking?

I don't think it is the fact of the meat being grass fed. I only eat grass fed meat (easy here in the UK) and I think that the crucial part is how long the meat has been hung. I had some fillet last week which was as tender as butter. Find a good butcher is my advice! I avoid super market meat as I have been disappointed with that, but very rarely have I bought a poor steak or joint from a butcher.

Comment

Here are a couple of points to consider. Grass fed may make the dining experience less pleasant, but really provide for better health.

1) The cattle industry's practice of feeding feedlot cattle massive omega-6 PUFA ladened grains will push the PUFA from the grain into muscle tissue. It is the unspent, accumulation of PUFA that provides the tenderness you feel in the texture. That will be absent in grass fed beef. The toughness of grass fed tells you, you aren't ingesting the high omega-6 PUFAs that are higher than nature intended.

2) The cattle industry also insures that feedlot cattle don't move around much so that the collagen content of the meat deteriorates. Collagen adds toughness. But, collagen provides amino acids that are important to our health, glycine and proline. It may not be pleasant to eat, but the tougher the meat is, the more collagen is present. This is what you expect in an animal that is moving around as nature intended.