Collapse
No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A little confused about my blood glucose levels

Every year, I get my blood tested at work. I have done this 7 years in a row. Over that time, I have become more into Primal Blueprint. Last year, I started lifting weights.

In the past year or so, I really focused on avoiding seed and vegetable oils, apart from avocado, coconut and olive. I consistently use, butter/ghee, lard and tallow for cooking. I render my own and use pastured animal fats. I also eat fried eggs every day. I am trying to keep my O6 and O3 in a good ratio.

7 years ago, my numbers were:
    Trigs = 328
    HDL = 39
    LDL = 300
    Total = 239

This year they are:
    Trigs = 50
    HDL = 57
    LDL = 89
    Total = 175

BTW I am using the Iranian calculation for LDL

As far as weight goes, I originally lost over 50 lbs. I am 5'8". 7 years ago I was 190lbs. I was as low as 133lbs (doing IF) a year ago. For the past year, I have been trying to gain muscle and I am currently 146lbs.

I am pleased with the trend but I am a bit concerned about my fasting glucose numbers.

For the last 7 years they were: 88, 91, 82, 95, 90, 87, 95

Why are they so high? Am I somewhat insulin resistant? I think my DR would say that as long as it is under 100, don't worry but I have also read that even 90 is high and anything over 90 is a predictor of diabetes.

Thanks

Look totally normal with normal fluctuation. Congrats on dramatic improvement on lipid panel. Primal/paleo usually brings trigs way down but pushes LDL up. How on earth did you accomplish that huge reduction in LDL?
    Last edited by Artbuc; 02-28-2017, 02:14 AM.

Comment