No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Calories

Hello!

I am very new to the paleo diet, and i have not completed The primal blueprint either.
    But i cant seem to find a good answear to this question: Do you have to be in a calorie surplus to gain new muscle mass if you dont have a high BF count ?

I'm pretty sure I've been gaining muscle as I lose weight, and I know I'm in caloric deficit a lot of the time, so I would say no. Of course, I started at 340 lbs. It might be different for you.
    Out of context quote for the day:

Clearly Gorbag is so awesome he should be cloned, reproducing in the normal manner would only dilute his awesomeness. - Urban Forager

Comment

Originally posted by Hit92 View Post
      Hello!

I am very new to the paleo diet, and i have not completed The primal blueprint either.
      But i cant seem to find a good answear to this question: Do you have to be in a calorie surplus to gain new muscle mass if you dont have a high BF count ?
      A very good resource for this info is Brad Pilon bradpilon.com. Short answer is in the short term (think a day),a calorie surplus isn't required. But, for muscle gain, your body needs something to make bone and muscle, over time you will have to have a surplus either from body fat or food.

Comment

Obviously what you eat is a major factor here, not just how much. Quality protein, fat, and animal products are necessary to provide the building blocks for new muscle.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Marks Daily Apple Forum mobile app

Comment

Hello!

I've been loosing body weight, body fat, and gaining muscle since I started the PB about three months ago. I'm only eating about 1600 calories a day.

I've been reading for years that you have to bulk, with loads of calories. Carbohydrates are a must for energy etc...

I do all my training fasted, and haven't touched any carbs since starting PB apart from salad and the occasional fruit.