No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Gaining bulk on primal blueprint

Hi

I'm new to this primal way of life and so far I'm finding it to be great. I really like the outlook on food exercise and life in general.....but there is a problem.

I'm quite a skinny guy, not the strongest and appear to have no fat at all. I want to gain a bit more mass to feel more comfortable and the way I've always been told is to eat lots of carbs.

I don't want to have a body boulders body but I want to look like I'm fit and muscular and gain a bit of bulk. The problem is, because I'm new to this, I don't know if it's possible to do this by eating primal.

I would love some advice and help on this subject. Can I gain mass by eating primal? What will I use instead of carbs to gain this bulk?

I'm a hard gainer so I've been told to eat loads but I want to know if there is a way I can to this healthily and primal.

Thanks

Ross

Lift weights.

Eat eat eat eat.

Repeat.

Sent via F-22 Raptor

Comment

Hi Ross, and welcome to the forum.

You can most definitely gain some mass while still eating Primal foods. I did it myself. Carbs definitely helped me. I ate (and still do eat) lots of sweet potatoes, white potatoes, even some rice on occasion even though it's strictly not Primal. Other good Primal starchy carb options are yuca/cassava (twice as many carbs as potato), plantains, and taro. You can also ramp up your fruit intake: bananas, figs, dates, plums, etc.

I tried gaining mass with a higher fat approach, but that did not work as well for me. I gained more fat mass as compared with a high carb approach.

Regardless of your specific eating plan, don't forget to get PLENTY of protein. DO that and stick to a solid lifting plan and you will add some good muscle in short order.

Comment