Collapse
No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Any Winos???

Figure since I was a mixed drink type of guy I quit drinking plain out and never really been one for beer. Figure I want to get going on some wine as I need a good stress reliever every now and then. What's a good wine out there to try and get going in that direction? I'm a complete newbie when it comes to wine except that I know I prefer red over white.

If you have a Trader Joe's, get the Charles Shaw label. AKA "2-buck Chuck." At the grocery store I like Angel Juice Pino Griggio (white) and Black Box Merlot (red), both are in boxes. Merlot is kind of bland wine, Cabernet is really full and rich, Shiraz is like Cab but sweeter and fruitier if that helps, but honestly, I think they all taste fairly similar when they are cheap wines. If you're gonna be a real wino, you gotta be cheap.
    Female, 5'3", 50, Max squat: 202.5lbs. Max deadlift: 225 x 3.

Comment

Yes, I have a TJ's a lil ways a way from me but worth a trip. Does Whole Foods by chance carry it? I have one of those closer so just curious. I'll more than likely grab the Black Box Merlot and see how that goes. What kind of Shiraz is good? Wine in general is pretty cheap which is a huge plus too haha.

Comment

You spelled Amy Winehouse wrong

Comment

For the under $10 wine, I usually go South American especially Argentine reds. They are better value for money than anything out of America, and the really cheap Euro wine we get in the US is pretty bad.Above $10 I'm much more likely to go Italian or Spanish or, these days, Portuguese. Over $25 I'll look for a DCOG Chianti or a super Tuscan, maybe a Fench Gigondas, something either super classic or something brand new. In American upmarket wine I like Oregon Pinot Noir (but that's where I'm from, I'm a homer), or if I have $$ a classic Napa or Sonoma cab. But in general I go cheap=S. America, spendy = Euro.