Collapse
No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Moisturizer/hand cream

I've been using coconut oil as my only moisturizer for over a year. I'm not sure why though... I'm not sure it doesn't anything Now that winter is here, I wash my hands 30+ times a day (I'm a nurse and hate the hand sanitizer stuff in the hospital) and I use too much chalk at crossfit... the skin on my hands is peeling and cracking. Its really pretty bad.

Anyone have any lotion recipes that I could make at home? Or other butters/oils that may work better? I've seen 'recipes' on wellnessmama and other websites but there are always have lots of "this didn't work" comments.

Thanks!

In my experience, it's much easier to make a cream, body butter or balm than it is to make lotion. The main difference is that with lotion you're making an emulsion and you're relying on wax to combine the oil and water. I've had some lotion disasters in my day... With a body butter, cream or balm you're usually just blending ingredients and not trying to suspend the oil in water.

I haven't tried these recipes yet, but I have them all pinned and plan to try them soon. The balm sounds nice, IMO. So, maybe one of these would work for you:

DIY Whipped Body Butter Recipe - The Idea Room

Living Unrefined: Homemade Beeswax Balm {multipurpose}

In the Nursery of the Nation: How to Make Homemade Lotion Bars

Comment

Duplicate post... oops!
      Last edited by nikitakolata; 12-03-2014, 08:50 AM.

Comment

Originally posted by lorichka6 View Post
        I've been using coconut oil as my only moisturizer for over a year. I'm not sure why though... I'm not sure it doesn't anything ...

Anyone have any lotion recipes that I could make at home? Or other butters/oils that may work better?
        Well … not a recipe, but I was surprised to see recently that Blue Ice -- the company that sells the fermented cod liver oil -- now does creams.