Collapse
No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Candida overgrowth and paleo link?

Hey guys. I've been eating Paleo for about 3 years now (80/20 rule of course) and I've never had this issue before, but during the end of the holiday period this year, my sister and I both formed a candida rash. We've been to the doctor and have been treating it for about a month now, but it really isn't much better. It'll ebb and flow and go away for a bit and then come back with a vengeance.

Here are the things we have been trying:
    Anti-fungal:
    fluconazole (3x per week)
    Coconut oil
    Lavender oil (in coconut oil)
    Grapeseed oil (in coconut oil)
    Pau D'arco lotion
    Apple cider vinegar

Pro-biotic: (at night)
    Watered down yogurt
    Kombucha
    Pro-biotic pills (several different kinds)

Really my question is, does anyone have any tips for us? We're already grain free and mostly sugar free, but any little slip up seems to complicate the issue. Also, if we do get rid of it, is it just going to keep coming back anytime we cheat? I would be rather sad if I could never have a beer ever again without having to deal with fighting off candida everytime I indulge.

For now, "mostly sugar free" may be too much. That feeds the candida. Cut out cheats until you're well.

It's good that you are introducing good gut bugs but what are you feeding them? Are you just pumping them in and letting them die. They can eventually overwhelm the candida but they need to live. You need prebiotics along with your probiotics. Fiber and resistant starches.
    Stop by to visit at http://primalways.net
    Old Paths ... New Journeys

Comment

Efficacy of garlic (Allium sativum) treatment against experimental candidiasis in chicks.